The Porto Industrial Association – AIP

is founded by Royal Decree of Queen Maria II.

Creation of the first Industrial School in Portugal

The first edition of the Porto Industrial Association Newspaper goes to print

AIP helps found Banco Aliança and a mortgage bank
First Industrial Fair
The Great Exhibition is inaugurated (Bolsa Palace)
The 1st International Exhibition is organised in the Palácio de Cristal
Regular sectorial fairs start taking place (textiles, construction materials, metalwork, food…)
EXPONOR is inaugurated
Internationalisation support services for companies begin, this project is currently referred to as Business on the Way.
AIP gains the status of Chamber of Commerce and Industry for Northern Portugal.
The name of the organisation is changed to Portuguese Business Association and Exponor Brazil is created
AEP is approved as an Intermediate Body
Creation of AEP Foundation
The Portuguese Business Confederation (CIP) is founded
AEP joins the Enterprise Europe Network (EEN)
Launching of the Novo Rumo a Norte project
Short history

The Portuguese Business Association (AEP), previously known as the Porto Industrial Association, was founded in May 1849, with the aim of “developing and perfecting the industry – to instruct and educate the working classes – introduce amongst us mutual aid and improvement of conditions for workers – and all the legal advantages that the industry may derive from such a gathering”. 

The Association began its activities immediately, launching the first issue of a publication dedicated to industrial and technological information, the “O Jornal da Associação Industrial Portuense” [Porto Industrial Association Newspaper], followed by the inauguration, two months later, of the first Portuguese vocational education school, the “Industrial School of Porto”, which pioneered technical official teaching that had been instituted by the Government at the end of that same year. 
In these early stages, the organisation also dedicated itself to other large endeavours that remained deeply connected to the history of Porto as a city, and to the Portuguese industry. This was the case, for instance, with the crucial role played by the association in the development of the mutual aid ideal, in the establishment of some banking institutions and the launching of fairs and industrial exhibitions.
The Caixa de Socorros Mútuos [Mutual Aid Bank], later called the Caixa de Crédito Portuense, was founded in 1854. In the field of financial activity, AEP supported the creation of the Banco Aliança and a mortgage bank. 

In its first phase, AEP also played a very important role in the organisation of industrial fairs. In 1856, the first permanent exhibition was inaugurated in the headquarters of AEP. These first events were excellent tests for the great exhibition that opened in 1861, in the Bolsa Palace, with the presence of King D. Pedro V. 

Over these 170 years, the association has always been guided by the priorities laid out in its original charter: defending the interests of Portuguese industry, providing economic and technological information, vocational training and promotion of Portuguese products and services. 

Today, AEP is the largest business association in Portugal, and has obtained the status of Chamber of Commerce and Industry. It has plenty of work to show for it in terms of supporting Portuguese business activity in several sectors and in defending and promoting the interests of the business community. 
AEP has also been a prized partner of governments in the discussion of issues related to the development of the Portuguese economy, and has a seat on the European Economic and Social Committee. Its services towards development have been public officially recognized: it is an Honorary Member of the Order of Prince Henry and possesses the Agricultural and Industrial Merit commendation (Industrial Class).

31.   Luís Miguel Magalhães Ribeiro​ | Desde 15 de julho de 2019

30.   José Paulo Sá Fernandes Nunes de Almeida | 2014 -2019

29.   José António Ferreira de Barros | 2008-2014

28.   Ângelo Ludgero da Silva Marques | 1985-2008

27.   António Luís Amorim Martins | 1984-1985

26.   Jorge Adolfo Quintela de Almeida Ferreirinha  | 1982-1984

25.   Francisco de Nápoles Ferraz de Almeida e Sousa | 1974-1982

24.   Mário de Sousa Drumond Borges | 1937-1974

23.   Francisco Xavier Esteves (2.º mandato) | 1919-1937

22.   Luís Firmino de Oliveira | 1917-1918

21.   Francisco Xavier Esteves (1.º mandato) | 1914-1917

20.   Félix Fernandes de Torres | 1910-1914

19.   Henrique Carvalho de Assunção | 1910

18.   António da Silva Marinho | 1908-1910

17.   António Francisco Nogueira | 1903-1908

16.   António Alves Calém Júnior | 1901-1903

15.   António José Gomes Samagaio | 1899-1901

14.   Diogo José Cabral | 1899

13.   Alfredo da Fonseca Menéres | 1898-1899

12.   Francisco José Nogueira | 1897-1898

11.   António Manuel Lopes Vieira de Castro | 1897

10.   Jacinto da Silva Pereira de Magalhães (2.º mandato) | 1896-1897

9.     Adolfo da Cunha Pimentel | 1893-1895

8.     Jacinto da Silva Pereira de Magalhães (1.º mandato) | 1891-1893

7.     Tomás António de Oliveira Lobo | 1872-1890

6.     Vicente Ferreira Pacheco | 1868-1871

5.     António Bernardo Ferreira | 1859-1867

4.     José da Silva Passos | 1856-1858

3.     José Vitorino Damásio | 1855-1856

2.     José Frutuoso Aires de Gouveia Osório | 1854-1855

1.     Joaquim Ribeiro de Faria Guimarães | 1852-1854